Roscommon Association Manchester was inspired by, Michael Butler (RIP), who advertised in the ‘Irish Post’ to ascertain the potential interest in his idea. There was an extremely enthusiastic response which led to the first meeting on December 6th 1985. The Committee was then elected and set about organising numerous The events for the coming year. The first Association social event took place in January 1986 in St. Brendan’s in Old Trafford. It was a huge success - so much so that the police were forced to stop traffic in order to reduce the gridlock caused in the surrounding area! The first annual Dinner Dance, held in Bell Vue, in November with an attendance of over 800 guests.

The Original Committee elected in 1985

President: Chris Mannion, Vice President: Jimmy Donoghue, Founder Chairman: Michael Butler, Vice Chairman: Dave Lane. Secretary: Eamonn Beirne, Assistant Secretary: Gertie Mannion, Treasurer: John Collins, Assistant Treasurer: Michael Kilkenny. Public Relations Officer: Austin Smith, Chaplain: Fr. James Creaton. Committee:Margaret Casserley, Mary Butler, Pat Smith, Ann Mannion, Ann Walsh, Maise Doherty, May Mitchell, Stephen Mannion, John Walsh,Pat Rafferty, Pat Brennan, Jerry Beirne, Chris Waldron

The Association has continued to go from strength to strength making possible the donation of thousands of pounds to many worthy causes over the years. This resounding ongoing success is a fitting tribute to the hard work and dedication of our former committee members as well as our unrelenting and loyal supporters. The Association has stated objectives as follows:-

  •  To foster, promote and encourage Irish culture and traditions within the Irish community. 
  •  To organise social events, for the enjoyment of all members and their families and friends.
  •  To help and further the interests of all recognised charities.
  •  To strengthen and consolidate our links with the City in which we live.

Current Officers

Maureen Fox, President, Ballinlough, nee Swanick
Margaret Casserley Chairperson Lisacul, nee McLoughlin
Yvonne Sarsfield, Vice-Chairperson, Ballymoe, nee Connolly
Len Connell SecretaryBallinlough
Anne-Marie Kelly Treasurer Family connection, Cloonlough
Fr, Pat Greasley Chaplain Family connection, Fairymount

Committee Members

Mary Butler Castlerea - nee Coyne
Tricia Frainey Family connection, Athleague
Ciara FraineyFamily connection,Athleague
Alan Keane Family connection, Castleplunket
Ann Parker Marystown nee Corcorran
Siobhan Kelly, Family connection, Cloonlough
Frank Fox Family connection, Ballinlough
Mary Hassall
Ann Carney, Lisacul


Supported By

This project received grant aid from Roscommon LEADER Partnership Rural Development Programme which is financed by the Irish Government under the Rural Development Programme Ireland 2007-2013 and by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development:Europe investing in Rural Areas.