Castlepoint Essex

Castlepoint Borough Council.

Castle Point Borough Council in Essex covers the areas of Canvey Island, Benfleet, Thundersley and Hadleigh. The Council is a highly complex body, created by statute and responsible for administering significant financial resources. The Council is one of the largest employers in the Borough with nearly 600 staff of which half are employed directly and the remainder through contracted service providers. The Council provides for and commissions over 150 separate services. Some it has a statutory duty to deliver while others are provided for the well being and benefit of the community. Website:- Email: Telephone: + 44 (0)1268 882200

Twinning Charter

Initial contact was made between the Councils in 1996 when Boyle native Councillor Bill M. Scott was a member of Castlepoint Borough Council. A Party of Councillors from Castlepoint led by the Mayor Councillor Tony Wright visited Boyle in September 2007 and it was agreed to examine a formal twinning arrangement. A reciprocal visit was made by the Cathaoirleach and the Boyle Electoral Area members of Roscommon County Council to Castlepoint in January 1998. During this visit Castlepoint Borough Council named a road in their administrative area as “Roscommon Way” The formal twinning Charter was signed by Cathaoirleach Councillor Tom Foxe and County Manager, Eddie Sheehy at a special meeting in the Council Chamber on April 24th 1998

Development of Links

Civic links between the two Council’s developed over the next number of years with The Mayor of County Roscommon attending the Castlepoint Mayor’s Civic Dinner annually and the Mayor of Castlepoint Councillor Alf Goldsworthy attending the Roscommon International Reunion Banquet in 2000. However the twinning did not developed to enable an exchange of visits between citizens of the two regions. As Roscommon is a predominately rural county it was difficult to form a twinning association and exchange visits on a countywide basis. It was considered that this type of exchange was more likely to be successful if based in a town and for this reason the town of Boyle was been selected for the initial phase of a possible exchange project given that the town has an elected Mayor and an elected Town Council. Members of Boyle Town Council and the elected members of Roscommon County Council for the Boyle Electoral visited Castlepoint in 2003 and following that visit worked in partnership with the citizens to establish a twinning association. In April 2004 the Mayor of Castlepoint Borough Council , Councillor Chris Freeman visited Boyle together with Tony Wright and Bill Scott members of the Castlepoint Twinning Committee. The visiting party was received in Boyle by The Mayor of County Roscommon, Councillor John Connor and the Mayor of Boyle Councillor Francie Geelan. The newly formed twinning committee in Boyle led by Chairperson Paul Byrne, Secretary Majella Dodd and Joint Treasurers Francie Geelan and Louise Carty along with representatives of business, sporting, voluntary and community organisations in Boyle gave a great welcome to the deputation at a function in the King House on 16th April 2004.

Current Situation

The newly formed twinning Committee in Boyle a big interest built up in relation to the twinning process and the committee had ambitions to bring 80 to 100 young people to Castlepoint. However this visit did not take place as there were difficulties in relation to budgets, travel arrangements and accommodation. There has been little activity recently

Supported By

This project received grant aid from Roscommon LEADER Partnership Rural Development Programme which is financed by the Irish Government under the Rural Development Programme Ireland 2007-2013 and by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development:Europe investing in Rural Areas.