Castlecoote , a picturesque village, where the remains of the castle of Sir Charles Coote, ‘President of Connaught’ during the rebellion of 1641, still stand. The castle towers now form part of the estate of Castlecoote House , a historic house and guesthouse which, in the Eighteenth century, was the birthplace of the celebrated Gunning sisters, later the Duchess of Hamilton and Argyll and the Countess of Coventry, legendary beauties at the court of English King George II.


Castlecoote is a noted angling base on the River Suck, renowned for its coarse and trout fishing, running through the village and encircling Castlecoote House itself. Nearby is Donamon, with its medieval castle and fishing stands.



Supported By

This project received grant aid from Roscommon LEADER Partnership Rural Development Programme which is financed by the Irish Government under the Rural Development Programme Ireland 2007-2013 and by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development:Europe investing in Rural Areas.